North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Hickory Grove Academy, in the County of Edgecombe, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1830-1831 - Chapter LXXXV

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1830-1831 - Pages 80-81.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Joshua Lawrence, Richard Harrison, Louis D, Wilson, Spencer L. Hart, Solomon Pender, Bartholomew Bowers, Charles W. Knight, James Ellinor, William Pender, Isaac Norfleet, James Garrett, Henry Shurly, Frederick Phillips, David Holland, Francis L. Dancy, Henry Hearn, Ely Porter, and Henry Morgan be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name, and style of "The Trustees of Hickory Grove Academy," and by that name and style shall have succession and a common seal; and they, or a majority of them, or their successors shall be able and capable in law to take, demand, receive and possess money, goods and chattels, lands and tenements, for the use of said Academy and apply the same according to the will of the donor.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said trustees, or a majority of them, and their successors, shall be able and capable in law to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of law within this State; shall have power to appoint other and more trustees, and to fill the place of such as may die, remove, resign or be incapable of acting; and to establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution, as may be necessary for the preservation of order and good morals and the advancement of science; elect a tutor or tutors and other officers; and to do and perform all such acts and things as are incident to, and usually exercised by bodies politic, for the accomplishment of the comtemplated object, not inconsistent with the laws of the State.

III. And be it further enacted, That any five of the trustees of said Academy shall constitute a quorum to transact the business of the institution.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this 4th day of January, 1831.

Montfort Stokes, Governor
Charles Fisher, Speaker of the House of Commons
David F. Caldwell, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved