North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act Establish and Incorporate Hickory Grove Academy, in the County of Richmond, on the Lands of John Carmichal.

1829-1830 - Chapter LXXIII

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1829-1830 - Pages 61-62.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That John Malloy, John Carmichal, Robert Campbell, Edward McMillan, Duncan McKinzey, Hugh McAirn and Daniel McBride, be, and they are hereby appointed trustees of Hickory Grove Academy; and they and their successors in office are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of "The Trustees of Hickory Grove Academy;" and by that name shall have perpetual succession, and a common seal, and shall be able and capable in law to have, receive, possess and enjoy any quantity of lands and tenements, goods, chattels and monies that may be given them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and to dispose of the same in such manner as they may deem proper, when not forbidden by the terms of said gift; they may sue and be sued; plead and be impleaded in any Court of Law or Equity within this State; and shall have power to appoint other or more trustees, and fill the places of such as may resign, remove, die or become incapable of acting; and to establish such bye-laws and regulations, for the government of said institution, as may be necessary for the preservation of order and good morals; to elect a tutor or tutors, and other officers, and to perform all such acts and things as are incident to and usually exercised by bodies politic and corporate, for the accomplishment of the contemplated object.

II. And be it further enacted, That any three of said trustees shall constitute a quorom tor the transaction of any business relative to the said institution.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this 7th day of January, 1830.

John Owen, Governor
William J. Alexander, Speaker of the House of Commons
David F. Caldwell, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved