North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Bachelors' Academy, in the County of Martin, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1826-1827 - Chapter CXXI

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1826 - Pages 68-69.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That John B. Calland, John D. Hyman, Francis E. Ward, Frederick W. Mayo, John Filpot, Joseph R. Ballard, Nelson L. Taylor, Thomas H. Weathersby, Jacob J. Watts, Lewis Harrell, John Bryan, James Mayo, Henry Watts and William W. Ward, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, known and distinguished by the name and style of "The Trustees of Bachelors' Academy," and by that name and style shall have perpetual succession and a common seal, and they, or a majority of them, or their successors, shall be able and capable in law to take, demand, receive and possess money, goods and chattels, lands and tenements, for the use of the said Academy, and apply the same according to the will of the donor.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said trustees, or a majority of them, and their successors, shall be able and capable in law to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded in any Court of this State, and to do all such acts and things as may be necessary and proper to be done by bodies corporate, for the advancement and promotion of science in said institution, not inconsistent with the laws of the State.

III. And be it further enacted, That whenevcr any of the aforesaid trustees shall die, remove, resign, or by any other means become incapable of performing their duties as trustees of said institution, a majority of those remaining shall elect some fit and suitable person or persons in his or their stead, who shall have the same power as their predecessors.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
this 12th day of February, A.D.1827.

Hutchins G. Burton, Governor
James Iredell, Jr., Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved