North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate Ebenezer Academy, in the County of Person.

1825-1826 - Chapter CVIII

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1825 - Page 74.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Willis L. Taylor, William L. Graham, William A. Lea, William Lea, Daniel Malone, Nicholas Thompson and Elijah Morton, of the county of Caswell, John Bradsher, Col. Jesse Bradsher, Hyram Dollerhide, Kindle Vanhook, Archibald Lipscombe, Maurice Smith and Thomas P. Evans, of the county of Person, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, known and distinguished by the name and style of "The Trustees of Ebenezer Academy, of Person County," and by that name and style shall have perpetual succession and a common seal, and they, or a majority of them, or their successors, shall be able and capable in law to take, demand, receive and possess money, goods and chattels, lands and tenements, for the use and benefit of said Academy, and apply the same according to the will of the donor.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said trustees, or a majority of them, and their successors, shall be able and capable in law to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of this State, and to do all such acts and things as may be necessary and proper to be done by bodies corporate for the advancement and promotion of science in said institution, not inconsistent with the laws of this State.

III. And be it further enacted, That whenever any of the aforesaid trustees shall die, remove or resign, or by any other means become incapable of performing their duties as trustees of said institution, a majority of the remaining trustees shall elect some fit and suitable person or persons in his or their stead, who shall have the same powers as their predecessors.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
this 4th day of January, 1826

Hutchins G. Burton, Governor
John Stanly, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved