North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Swansboro Academy, in the County of Onslow, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1824 - Chapter CXXIII

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1824 - Pages 87-88.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That William P. Ferrand, Luke Huggins, David M. Dulany, David W. Saunders, James Wade, Frederick Foy, William Mitchell, George Hatch and Edward Jones, and their successors in office, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name and style of "The Trustees of the Swansboro Academy," and by that name shall have perpetual succession and a common seal, and shall be able and capable in law to have, receive and possess any quantity of land and tenements, goods, chattels and monies that may be given to them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and dispose of them, when not forbidden by the terms of said gift; they may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of law within this State, shall have power to appoint other and more trustees, and fill the placeof such as may die, remove, resign or be incapable of acting, and to establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution, as may be necessary for the preservation of order and good morals, elect a professor or professors, tutors and other officers, and do and perform all such acts and things as are incident to, and usually exercised by bodies politic for the accomplishment of the contemplated object.

II. And be it further enacted, That the trustees, or a majority of them, shall have power to elect a president, secretary and treasurer; and also to raise by way of lottery, a sum or sums for the purpose of erecting suitable buildings, purchase of books, or any other purpose for the promotion of said institution.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
this 31st day of Dec. 1824

Hutchins G. Burton, Governor
Alfred Moore, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved