North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish and Incorporate Lumberton Academy, in the County of Robeson.

1823 - Chapter CXXIX

Acts Passed by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina 1823 - Page 84.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That James McQueen, Sion Alford, Joseph Wood, Charles Moore, John W. Powell, Neill Buie, Henry Hollinsworth, Richard C. Bunting, Richard C. Rhode, Jacob Blount, James Storm, Willis Pope, Alexander Townsend, William Carloss and Stephen Thompson, be, and they are hereby appointed trustees of the Lumberton Academy, and they, and their successors in office, are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of the "Trustees of the Lumberton Academy," and by that name shall have in perpetual succession and a common seal, and shall be able and capable in law, to have, receive, possess and enjoy any quantity of lands and tenements, goods, chattels and monies that may be given them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and to dispose of the same in such manner as they may deem proper, when not forbidden by the terms of said gift; they may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded. In any court of law or equity within this state, and shall have power to appoint other or more trustees, and to fill the places of such as may resign, remove, die or become incapable of acting; and to establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution, as may be necessary to the preservation of order and good morals; to elect a tutor or tutors and other officers, and to do and perform all such acts and things as are incident to, and usually exercised by bodies politic and corporate, for the accomplishment of the contemplated object.

II. And be it further enacted, That any five of the trustees of the said academy shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business relative to the said institution.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
this 31st day of Dec. 1823

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
Alfred Moore, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved