North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate a Male and Female Academy on the Lands of Thomas Cottrell, in the County of Warren, by the Name and Under the Title of "Shady Grove Academy."

1822 - Chapter XCIX

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1822 - Pages 58-59.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Henry G. Williams, Reverend Hill Jones, John Harwell, Samuel Williams, James Southerland, Benjamin C. Eaton, Colonel Rhean Read, Reverend Henry Fitts, Doctor John M. Walker and the Reverend Thomas Cottrell, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of the "Trustees of the Shady Grove Academy," and by that name shall have perpetual succession, and a common seal; and that they, the Trustees and their successors, by the name aforesaid, or a majority of them, shall be able and capable in law to take, demand, receive and possess all monies, goods and chattels, lands and tenements that shall be given them for the use of said Academies, and the same apply according to the will of the donor.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said Trustees, by the name aforesaid, viz. "The Trustees of the Shady Grove Academies," shall be able and capable to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court within this State; and, in general, they shall and may do all such things as are usually done by bodies politic and corporate, or such as may be necessary for the promotion of learning and virtue.

III. And be it further enacted, That in case of death, refusal, or inability to act of any of the trustees now appointed, the remaining trustees, or a majority of them, may elect otjers to supply their places, and shall also have power to elect additional trustees, so that the whole number shall not exceed twenty-five.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
the 31st day of December, A.D. 1822

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
John D. Jones, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved