North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Meltonsville Academy, in Anson County, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1822 - Chapter XCIII

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1822 - Page 56.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Andrew Paul, Alfred Sinclair, James Fields, Jonathan Durin, David Rushing, Stephen Rushing, Mordicai Meader, Michael Eaker and Vachel T. Cheairs be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of the Trustees of the Meltonsville Academy; and by that name shall have perpetual succession, and shall be able and capable in law to have, receive and possess any quantity of land and tenements, goods, chattels and monies, that may be given to them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and dispose of them, when not forbidden by the terms of said gift. They may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of law within this State; shall have power to appoint other and more trustees, and to fill the place of such as may die, remove, resign or be incapable of acting, and to establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution as may be necessary for the preservation of order and good morals; elect a professor or professors, tutors and other officers; and to do and perform all such acts and things as are incident to, and usually exercised by bodies politic for the accomplishment of the contemplated object.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
the 31st day of December, A.D. 1822

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
John D. Jones, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved