North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Hopewell Academy, in Edgecombe County, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1822 - Chapter CXXIII

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1822 - Page 69.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That James Stanton, Elijah Price, Josiah R. Horn, Samuel Vines, Jesse Speight, Benjamin Miller and Henry T. Stanton, and their successors, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known by the name of the Trustees of the Hopewell Academy; and, by that name, shall have perpetual succession, and shall be able and capable in law to have, receive and possess any quantity of lands and tenements, goods, chattels and monies that may be given to them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and dispose of the same if not forbidden by the terms of said gift. They may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of law within this state; shall have power to fill the place of such as may die, remove, resign, or be incapable of acting, and to establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution as may be necessary for the preservation of order and good morals, not inconsistent with the laws and constitution of the state; elect a professor or professors, tutors, and other officers; and to do and perform all such acts and things as are incident to, and usually exercised by bodies politic for the accomplishment of the object contemplated.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
the 31st day of December, A.D. 1822

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
John D. Jones, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved