North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Ebenezer Academy, in Iredell County, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1822 - Chapter XLIX

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1822 - Pages 37-38.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That an academy, for the education of youth in the various branches of literature, be, and the same is hereby declared to be established in the county of Iredell, to be known by the name of Ebenezer Academy.

II. Be it further enacted, That Hugh Andrews, James H. Hall, Thomas Allison, Samuel King, Alexander Barr, William D. Hall, Alexander Nesbitt, Abner F. Caldwell, William A. Hall, the Reverend John M. Erwin, and the Reverend Daniel Gould, be, and they and their successors in office, are hereby declared to be a body corporate and politic, to be known and distinguished by the name and title of the Trustees of Ebenezer Academy: and they are hereby vested with full power and authority to supply all vacancies which may occur in their own body, and to displace and appoint teachers from time to time as they may think proper.

III. Be it further enacted, That the Trustees aforesaid, and their successors in office, by the name aforesaid, shall have perpetual succession; be capable to receive, possess and enjoy any lands, tenements, goods or moneys that may be given for the use of said academy, and to apply the same according to the will of the donor, to sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded in any court within this state; and to do and perform all such matters and things as are incident to, or generally exercised by bodies corporate and politic by the laws of this state, and to make all such orders, rules and regulations for the good order and government of said academy, as the said Trustees, or a majority of them, may think proper, not inconsistent with the laws of this state.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
the 31st day of December, A.D. 1822

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
John D. Jones, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved