North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Establish Culpepper Academy, in the County of Anson, and to Incorporate the Trustees Thereof.

1822 - Chapter CXLI

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1822 - Pages 76-77.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That Adam Lockhart, William Marshall, John Smith, William Mendenhall, James Watkins, Joseph White, Christopher Watkins, William Threadgill, George Threadgill, Thomas Coleson, Jesse Beverly, and Augustine Shepherd, and their successors, be, and they are hereby declared a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of the Trustees of Culpepper Academy; and by that name shall have perpetual succession, and shall be able and capable in law, to have, receive and possess, any lands, tenements or goods, that may be given to them, and apply the same according to the will of the donor, and dispose of the same, if not forbidden by the terms of said gift. They may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in any court of law in this state; shall have power to appoint to any vacancies which may arise in the board of trustees, and establish such laws and regulations for the government of said institution, as may be necessary for the preservation of good morals; and do all such acts as are necessary for the establishment of said Academy.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly
the 31st day of December, A.D. 1822

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
John D. Jones, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved