North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Union Library Society, in Iredell County.

1821 - Chapter LXXVI

The Laws of the State of North Carolina 1821 - Pages 55-56.

WHEREAS, sundry persons, citizens of the county of Iredell, have associated together and formed a circulating Library, for the purpose of disseminating useful knowledge: for the encouragement whereof,

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the state of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That William Gibson, Richard Hall, James Adams, Alexander Huggins, James L. Hill, Alexander Barr, and Abraham Alexander be, and they are hereby constituted a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of the Trustees of the Union Library Society, and, by that name, shall have perpetual succession; and shall be able and capable in law, to take, have, hold, receive, possess and enjoy any estate or property, real or personal, which they may obtain by gift, purchase, devise or otherwise, and apply the same for the benefit of said corporation, according to the will of the donor, and according to such rules as may from time to time be established by the said corporation for the government thereof.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said Trustees, and their successors, by the name and style aforesaid, may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded; and they shall have power and authority to make such bye-laws and regulations as they may think proper, for the due ordering of the several matters appertaining to the said institution, not inconsistent with the constitution and laws of this State.

III. And be it further enacted, That in case of the death, disability, removal, or refusal to act, ot any of the before named Trustees, it shall and may be lawful for the remaining Trustees, or a majority of them, to appoint another or others in their stead, who are hereby declared to be as truly and fully Trustees ot the "Union Library Society," to all intents and purposses, as if they had been severally named in this Act.

Read three times and Ratified in General Assembly
the 26th day of December, A.D. 1821

Gabriel Holmes, Governor
James Mebane, Speaker of the House of Commons
Bartlett Yancey, Speaker of the Senate

A true copy - William Hill, Secretary

© 2017 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved