North Carolina - Acts on Education Topics

An Act to Incorporate the Trustees of the Nutbush Mineral Springs Academy on the Land of John Simms in the County of Warren.

1810 - Chapter LXV

The Laws of North Carolina of 1810 - Page 32

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of North Carolina, and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, That the Honorable James Turner, the Honorable Leonard Henderson, William Hawkins, Dr. John Hare, William Robards, Dr. Joseph W. Hawkins, Richard Bullock, Buckner Davis, Dr. Thomas Simms, Solomon Green, John D. Hawkins, William Green, William B. Langly and Dr. James H. Keys, be, and they are hereby declared to be a body politic and corporate, to be known and distinguished by the name of The Trustees of the Nutbush Mineral Springs Academy, and by that name shall have perpetual succession; and that they, or a majority of them, by the name aforesaid, shall be able and capable in law, to take, demand, receive and possess, all monies, goods, chattels, lands and tenements that may be given them for the use of the said Academy, and the same to apply as they, or a majority of them, may deem most advantageous to said Academy.

II. And be it further enacted, That the said trustees, or a majority of them, shall have power to make such laws and regulations for the government of said Academy, and the preservation of order and good morals therein, as are usually made in such Seminaries, and to them may seem proper.

Read three times and ratified in General Assembly,
of North Carolina, December 21st, 1810
William White, Secretary

Joseph Riddick, S.S.
William Hawkins, S.H.C.

© 2018 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved