Dobbs County, North Carolina


Year Established

County Seat

Population (2000)



N/A - County No Longer Exists

First Settled

First Settled By

Significance of County Name


Settlers from Craven County

Arthur Dobbs - Royal Governor of NC
Click Here - To see how Dobbs County evolved - includes all the known towns and villages.

A History of Dobbs County

Dobbs County was formed from Johnston County in 1758. Click Here to view the 1758 Legislative Act that created Dobbs County.

Wayne County was formed in 1779 from Dobbs County. In 1791, Dobbs was divided into Glasgow and Lenoir counties. Dobbs County became extinct at that point. Between 1758 and 1791, Kinston was the county seat of Dobbs County starting in 1764. After 1791, Kinston became the county seat of Lenoir County.
Wayne County was created in 1779, when it was formed from the western half of Dobbs County. Twelve years later, in 1791, the remainder of Dobbs County was divided into Lenoir and Glasgow (Greene after 1799), and Dobbs County thus ceased to exist. The early records of Dobbs County were destroyed when the Lenoir County court house was burned in 1878.
Dobbs County is a former county located in the state of North Carolina. It was formed in 1758 from Johnston County, though the legislative Act that created it did not become effective until April 10, 1759. It was named for Arthur Dobbs, Royal Governor of North Carolina from 1754 to 1765.

In 1779, the western part of Dobbs County became Wayne County, and the county seat was moved from its original location on Walnut Creek to the town of Kingston, which was renamed Kinston in 1784.

Click Here to learn about all of the known officers and men who served in the Dobbs County Regiment of Militia during the American Revolution. All names in "blue/underscore" can be clicked on for additional information.

In 1791, Dobbs County was divided into Greene County and Lenoir County, and ceased to exist.  

© 2019 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved