Carteret County, North Carolina

Year Established

County Seat

Significance of County Name

Population (2020)



Sir John Carteret,
2nd Earl of Granville


Legislative Act Creating County

First Settled / By

County Evolution by Decade

Official County Website

Click Here

~1700 / From Craven County

Click Here

Click Here

Historical Post Offices

American Revolution

American Civil War

Significant Education Events

Alphabetical / Date Started

Battles & Skirmishes / Militia

Battles & Skirmishes / Camps & Forts / Troops

Click Here

Airports in Carteret County

Maps of Carteret County

Books About Carteret County

Genealogy Sources

Click Here

Click Here

Click Here

Click Here

A History of Carteret County

Cape Lookout Lighthouse

Carteret Precinct was established in 1722 from Craven Precinct. Many standing structures predate that time, including Beaufort's famed Hammock House of 1709. Beaufort, the third oldest town in North Carolina, has a 21-block historic district which includes a boardwalk lined with boats on one side and unique shops and restaurants on the other.

Carteret Precinct was named after John Carteret, 2nd Baronet Carteret, 2nd Earl of Granville, one of the 3rd generation of Lords Proprietors, and the only one not to sell his portion of Carolina to the Crown in 1729.

On March 8, 1738/9, all precincts were renamed as counties - so, Carteret Precinct became Carteret County.

History buffs will enjoy a visit to restored Fort Macon, which was built in 1834. Cape Lookout National Seashore runs from Beaufort to Ocracoke Inlet, consisting of a beautiful 55 miles of natural, undeveloped barrier islands.

Morehead City Saltworks During the Civil War - 1862

© 2023 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved