North Carolina in the American Civil War

North Carolina Counties - 1860 to 1865
Just before North Carolina voted to secede from the Union, the Legislature created three new counties: Clay, Mitchell, and Transylvania. This brought the total number of counties to eighty-nine (89), and that number remained constant during the American Civil War. 


© 2020-2022 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved