Gov. Sir Francis Nicholson's Executive Council

Dates: 1721 to 1724

Location Met: Charles Town

On September 20, 1720, the Crown appointed Sir Francis Nicholson as its Provisional Governor of South Carolina, the first governor under Royal rule, although the Lords Proprietors continued their ownership of Carolina. He arrived in Charles Town on May 22, 1721 and took the oaths of office and allegiance on May 29, 1721.
James Kinloch of Prince George's, Winyah Parish is known to have served on the Executive Council from 1717 until his death in 1757. He served under Governor Robert Johnson twice, Governor James Moore, Governor Francis Nicholson, Acting Governor Arthur Middleton, Acting Governor Thomas Broughton, Acting Governor William Bull, Governor James Glen, and Governor William Henry Lyttleton.
William Bull is known to have served on the Executive Council from 1721 to 1737 under Governor Sir Francis Nicholson, Acting Governor Arthur Middleton, Governor Robert Johnson, and Lt. Governor Thomas Broughton.
On July 21, 1724, a letter from Secretary Charles Hart to Governor Sir Francis Nicholson named three (3) of his Executive Council - Arthur Middleton, Ralph Izard, and Benjamin Schenckingh.
Sometime in late 1724, Governor Sir Francis Nicholson left Charles Town for London, where he arrived in April of 1725.
This Author has not found any records of the Executive Council under Governor Sir Francis Nicholson. If any become available, summaries will be provided herein.  

<< James Moore, Jr.'s Council

Arthur Middleton's Council >>


© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved