Gov. Charles Craven's Executive Council

Dates: 1712 to 1716

Location Met: Charles Town

On February 21, 1710/11, the Lords Proprietors issued a commission and instructions to the next governor of South Carolina, Charles Craven, brother of the Palatine, William Craven, 2nd Baron Craven. However, he did not arrive in Charles Town until 1712.
His Executive Council was composed of Thomas Broughton, Ralph Izard, Charles Hart, Samuel Eveleigh, and Arthur Middleton, &c., all men of considerable property and experience in provincial affairs.
On March 27, 1713, a letter from the Lords Proprietors identify Nicholas Trott as Chief Justice in South Carolina at this point in time.
On April 20, 1714, the Lords Proprietors issued a commission to Henroydah English as the Surveyor General of South Carolina.
On May 5, 1714, the Lords Proprietors issued a commission and instructions to Edward Brocke as Naval Officer of South Carolina.
On July 27, 1714, Sir John Colleton appointed Nicholas Trott as his Deputy in South Carolina.
On April 11, 1715, the Lords Proprietors patented William Hodgson as a Cassique and a Landgrave.
On April 25, 1716, Governor Charles Craven appointed Robert Daniell as Deputy Governor and left South Carolina for London, never to return.
This Author has not found any records of the Executive Council under Governor Charles Craven. If any become available, summaries will be provided herein.  

<< Robert Gibbes's Council

Robert Daniell's Council >>


© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved