Carolina Under Royal Rule

6th Commons House of Assembly - 1729
The Sixth Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule convened for at least one (1) known session. The singular session met from January 15th to February 21st in 1729.

Election District


Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

Thomas Barksdale (1)

Hugh Hext (1)

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

James Brown

John Bulline

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

Joseph Elliott (1)

Roger Saunders

George Smith

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

Thomas Bulline

William McMeekin (1)

Joshua Saunders

Royal Spry (1)

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

Peter Goulding

Paul Jenys

St. Helena's Parish
(4 delegates)

John Delabere

Samuel Prioleau

Twedie Somerville

Alexander Trench

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(4 delegates)

William Adams

John Bailey

*William Dry

Tobias Fitch

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

Thomas Smith

William Waties

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

Elias Ball (1)

Daniel Donovan (1)

William Drake (1)

St. Paul's Parish
(4 delegates)

Alexander Hext

Thomas Ladson

John Tucker

Robert Yonge

St. Philip's Parish
(5 delegates)

John Fenwicke

Daniel Gibson

Daniel Green

Daniel Huger (1)

William Rhett (2)

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

James Akin

Peter Johnson

John Lloyd
* William Dry was elected Speaker of the House. Eleazer Allen was elected Clerk of the House. John Brown was elected Messenger of the House.
(1) Declined to serve. Seat apparently remained vacant.
(2) William Rhett died on February 16, 1729.
<< 1728  

 1729 >>


© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved