Carolina Under Royal Rule

4th Commons House of Assembly - 1728
The Fourth Commons House of Assembly under Royal Rule convened for at least one (1) known session. The singular known session met from July 9th to July 24th in 1728.

Election District


Christ Church Parish
(2 delegates)

George Benson (1)

Charles Lewis (1)

Prince George's, Winyah Parish
(2 delegates)

Meridith Hughes

John Tompson

St. Andrew's Parish
(3 delegates)

William Elliott

Roger Saunders

George Smith (1)

St. Bartholomew's Parish
(4 delegates)

Thomas Bulline (2)

William McMeekin

Joshua Saunders

Royal Spry (1)

St. George's, Dorchester Parish
(2 delegates)

Benjamin Child

William Sanders

St. Helena's Parish
(4 delegates)

John Delabere

John Palmer (1)

Samuel Prioleau

Edward Scott (1)

St. James, Goose Creek Parish
(4 delegates)

William Adams

Thomas Bulline (2)

William Dry

Tobias Fitch

St. James, Santee Parish
(2 delegates)

Jonathan Skrine (1)

Thomas Smith

St. John's, Berkeley Parish
(3 delegates)

Daniel Donovan

William Drake (1)

John Jones

St. Paul's Parish
(4 delegates)

Alexander Hext

Thomas Ladson

John Tucker

Robert Yonge

St. Philip's Parish
(5 delegates)

John Fenwicke

Charles Hill (1)

Paul Jennys

William Rhett

Joseph Wragg (1)

St. Thomas's & St. Dennis's Parish
(3 delegates)

James Akin

Peter Johnson

John Lloyd
* William Dry was elected as the Speaker of the House. Eleazer Allen was elected as Clerk of the House. John Brown was elected as Messenger of the House.
(1) Declined to serve. Apparently this seat remained vacant.
(2) Thomas Bulline was elected to represent both St. Bartholomew's Parish and St. James, Goose Creek's Parish. He chose to represent St. Bartholomew's Parish.
<< 1728  

 1728 >>


© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved