Carolina Under the Lords Proprietors' Rule

17th Commons House of Assembly - 1720 to 1721

The Seventeenth Commons House of Assembly convened for at least thirteen (13) known sessions. The first session met from February 3rd to February 13th in 1720. The second session met from March 8th to March 11th in 1720. The third session met from April 12th to April 14th in 1720. The fourth session met from May 3rd to May 6th in 1720. The fifth session met from May 17th to May 21st in 1720. The sixth session met from June 7th to June 17th in 1720. The seventh session met from July 12th to July 16th in 1720. The eighth session met from August 30th to September 3rd in 1720. The ninth session met from November 1st to November 3rd in 1720. The tenth session met from November 22nd to December 17th in 1720. The eleventh session met from February 7th to February 17th in 1721. The twelfth session met from March 7th to March 8th in 1721. The thirteenth session met from April 25th to April 28th in 1721.

This was the last Assembly to convene under Lords Proprietors' rule.

Available records do not indicate which parish each delegate represented except for one.

Election District



Andrew Allen

William Cattell (1)

Jonathan Drake

William Dry

William Elliott

Ralph Emms

Abraham Eve

John Fenwicke

John Gendron

John Godfrey

Arthur Hall

Paul Hamilton

Richard Harris

*Thomas Hepworth

Hugh Hext

Henry Houser

Daniel Huger

Walter Izard

Peter Johnson

Samuel Jones

George Logan

Thomas Lynch

Arthur Middleton

Roger Moore

John Ouldfield

John Raven

John Rivers

Alexander Skene

George Smith

Richard Smith

John Stanyarne

Benjamin Waring

William Wilkins

Christopher Wilkinson

John Williams
* Thomas Hepworth was elected as the Speaker of the House. Thomas Moore was elected as Clerk of the House.
(1) William Cattell qualified to represent St. Andrew's Parish on 2/9/1720.
<< 1720  

 1721 >>


© 2014 - J.D. Lewis - PO Box 1188 - Little River, SC 29566 - All Rights Reserved